Raj and I just got back from watching Valkyrie. I wasn’t sure what to expect being that the leader of nutjobs was the star of the film, but I was pleasantly surprised. True to history, the attempts on Adolf Hitler’s life were unsuccessful. This got me thinking. What would I have done if I were in Nazi Germany as a Christian? Would I have defied the government? Would I have stayed quiet and gone along in my everyday life? Would I have felt compelled to help the Jews? Would I have been blind and deaf and just listen to whatever the media told me?

The men and women who chose to defy the government did so for different reasons. Some defied because they felt it was their Christian duty. They knew it meant their lives. They chose defiance anyway. How does a Christian reconcile obeying those God has placed in government when the leadership is being ungodly?

What does that look like now? Are there similarities within our society today? I wonder what a Christian response should be in the face of evil being done by those in leadership positions. Dietrich Bonhoeffer believed a Christian response in Nazi Germany was to end Hitler’s life. Clearly, he was extreme. But what is the proper response?

