Update:

If you scroll down a few posts you’ll see a youtube video of a group of elderly folks singing Coldplay’s “Fix You”. It was playing in this little theater in Santa Cruz while Raj and I were on our honeymoon. Since it was only in select locations we decided to check it out. I have mixed feelings about the movie. It was good, but the reminder of one’s mortality just days after saying “I Do” was heavy to ponder. I’m young. I’m surrounded by people who I love and who love me. It’s not easy to think about the reality in which we live. We don’t stay young forever. Our bodies are going to get old and rusty. I might have to wear Depends one day. Obviously, that’s heavy stuff to think about! I think the hardest part to watch in the movie was the loneliness that these men and women fought. Some were married. Many were widowed. Most were lonely. And then some of them died. I don’t want to be fighting loneliness at the end of my life. I want to live a full life. Being the introvert that I am, sometimes it’s easier for me to seclude myself and get lost for hours on end reading books instead of picking up a phone and living life with someone. That movie, if nothing else, was a challenge to live with others. Maybe it’s selfish since I don’t want to be alone, but I don’t think God created me to be alone anyway so I’m okay with it. A lot to think about on your honeymoon that’s for sure! 🙂

If you want to watch a film that makes you think, you should pick it up, but I’m warning you, thoughts of yourself and others you love wearing Depends will flash before your eyes.

